Music Meme #1: The albums of my life

Jamelle tagged me two weeks ago with a new meme based on an article at the Onion A.V. Club.  The basic gist is that you list a favorite album for every year of your life.  It’s taken me this long to reply because, well, I’m older than Jamelle, and thus I have more albums to list.  Additionally, I’m of the firm opinion that the best music was created before I was born, and my music collection reflects this.  I guess what I’m trying to say is “Get off my lawn, you young punk!”  Without further adieu, the albums of my life:

1980: The Police, Zenyatta Mondatta

1981:  Rick James, Street Songs

1982:  Michael Jackson, Thriller

1983:  David Bowie, Let’s Dance

1984:  Prince, Purple Rain

1985:  Fishbone, Fishbone

1986:  Genesis, Invisible Touch

1987:  Terence Trent D’Arby, Introducing the Hardline According to Terence Trent D’Arby

1988:  N.W.A., Straight Outta Compton

1989:  Operation Ivy, Energy

1990:  They Might Be Giants, Flood

1991:  Red Hot Chili Peppers, Blood Sugar Sex Magik

1992:  En Vogue, Funky Divas

1993:  Pearl Jam, Vs.

1994:  Stone Temple Pilots, Purple

1995:  Rancid, …And Out Come the Wolves

1996:  Weezer, Pinkerton

1997:  Jamiroquai, Travelling Without Moving

1998:  The Slackers, The Question

1999:  Beck, Midnite Vultures

2000:  The Hives, Veni Vidi Vicious

2001:  Soulive, Doin’ Something

2002:  Medeski Martin & Wood, Uninvisible

2003:  Outkast, Speakerboxxx/The Love Below

2004:  The Coup, Party Music (yes, I know this is the re-release date, but damnit, I have 28 of these to do!)

2005:  The Cat Empire, Two Shoes

2006:  The Aggrolites, The Aggrolites

2007:  Amy Winehouse, Back to Black

2008:  The Ting Tings, We Started Nothing

Well that was fun, wasn’t it?  Yet again, we discover that I like funk and ska.  I hereby tag Ned Resnikoff, Mike Meginnis, and Gary ChapelHill.  Have at ye!

3 comments so far

  1. garychapelhill on

    Oh dear god…I’ll get back to you in about 6 months….

  2. All Memes All the Time « Ned Resnikoff on

    […] 28, 2008 by Ned Resnikoff Yep, another one. I can’t help it, I’ve been tagged. What are you gonna do, right? Good thing I’ve […]

  3. John Cain on

    Some advice, Gary (and to anyone else thinking of putting one of these together): the albums from your teens and early twenties will come easily, it’s the albums close to your birth and the present day you’ll have trouble with. For those, Wikipedia’s “19xx in music” articles are your friend.


Leave a Reply

