The childish sexuality of Alex Knepper

I’d like to associate myself with everything Jill Filipovic writes here at Feministe about American University Eagle columnist Alex Knepper.  I’d especially like to comment on this section:

Right-wing rape apologists are pretty good at encouraging men to put themselves in the shoes of those accused of rape — “Can you imagine going home with a girl and then the next morning she regrets it and you’re going to jail?” I find it really helpful to actually think through, fully, an acquaintance-rape scenario as they more typically happen (and here I’ll switch to more gender-neutral terms, since acquaintance-rape is not only men raping women, as it’s often imaged — and again, these descriptions may be triggering). It’s easy to remember that time you had a few beers and also had consensual sex — something that rape apologists try to exploit. But it should be just as easy to remember that time you were hooking up with someone and they said to stop or slow down and of course you did! Or the time you were hooking up with someone and you said to stop or slow down or you just pulled back or moved their hand away and of course they stopped wherever you drew that line, and you didn’t really give it a second thought, because what kind of person hears “stop” or “no” and keeps going anyway?

As an American male who attended college, I can confirm that this sort of sexual paranoia gets pushed on college males quite frequently, leading some to believe that rape is a charge rife with ambiguity. Jill is right, though, in saying this sort of gray area does not exist, and is instead an extremely easy call.  For instance, I am absolutely sure every sexual encounter I’ve ever had was consensual.  Do I know this because I required my partners to fill out a lengthy questionnaire, or because I paused every thirty seconds to reaffirm consent?  Not at all; it’s because every woman I’ve slept with was, at the time, actively trying to fuck me.

Women have used many methods over the course of my life to indicate they are trying to fuck me.  They have taken off my clothes.  They have taken off their clothes.  They have given me oral sex.  They have asked for oral sex themselves.  They have taken their hand to physically guide my penis into them.  After said insertion, they have moved their hips to produce the necessary motion inherent in coitus.  They have suggested different positions.  They have uttered variations of the phrases “Fuck me!”, “Fuck me there!”, or “Keep fucking me”, all of them awesome.  I share this all not to be boastful or salacious (hi, Mom!), but to simply note that it is extremely easy to determine whether a woman is trying to fuck you or not, and that if it’s not blindingly obvious, you’re likely committing rape.

That Knepper sees this as difficult at all makes me question whether he’s ever had a consensual sexual encounter in his entire life.  He claims to have a positive view of female sexuality, but thinks that women are so unwilling to ever have sex that they have to be tricked into it.  In his view, sex is something men have and women give, an outlook that leads him to concoct a series of playground-like rules to overcome this dynamic:

  • Get her back to your room, and you’re home free!
  • If she goes to a certain party, she’s already consented by being part of the culture.
  • Women are automatically submissive, and thus you can dominate them at any time.

If anyone’s creating rigid rules around sexual encounters here, it’s Alex Knepper, not feminists.  The feminist rule is “if both people want to fuck, go for it” while he prefers “If she’s at place A at intoxication level X wearing C and at a flirting level of Y, and if you can get her back to place B, go for it”.  He has such little understanding of basic human sexuality that I pity him as much as I despise him.

In any case, Jill’s response is really great, so go ahead and read the whole thing.

5 comments so far

  1. Just Someone on

    I heard about Knepper’s latest article in the Eagle through a friend. After following the story and comments on the Eagle website, I decided to type this guy’s name into google and see what else I could find out about him. This is how I found your blog.

    I love what you wrote here and so glad to see a sexually active man responding in disagreement. I hate to think that a man would buy into this guy’s arguements so much that he would be afraid to approach me for fear he couldn’t ever really be sure if I was giving consent or not and was gonna cry rape as much as I would hate to think that a man would just assume I am consenting to sex with him by having a drink at a party.

    It is extremely clear to me that he has no understanding of females let alone how they react in sexual situations. It really is quite sad when you think about it.

  2. Kat on

    Alex Knepper identifies as a gay man–that might answer some of your questions?
    http://www.indegayforum.org/news/show/31719.html

  3. Carlin on

    One day Alex Knepper will grow up and apply for a job. Human resources offices have been duly warned. This guy appears to be mentally ill with an ax to grind.

  4. Max on

    “That Knepper sees this as difficult at all makes me question whether he’s ever had a consensual sexual encounter in his entire life.”

    Rape is unambiguous, sure. But love and sex are often not. In fact, they’re among the most “difficult” things in the world. Not all college-aged men and women are so secure in their sexual experience as to grab your dick or you your own and make beautiful love all night long. You know that’s true. When experience levels vary, there IS OFTEN going to be dominant partner, and it’s just as often not the man. That dominant partner is going to find himself or herself cajoling and teaching and assuaging…and pressuring.

    No one is saying that this is rape. Rape is unambiguous. But to imply that all sexual experience itself is unambiguous is close to absurd. Were you never a 17-year-old virginal male? Or were you – like Knepper in reverse – having wild sex since the moment of circumcision.

    • Reader on

      What ever happened to *asking* when you’re not sure in an ambiguous situation? Even a virginal male 17-year-old can figure *that* out instead of raping someone and going “uh, I wasn’t sure if she wanted it or not so I stuck it in her just in case she wanted it”


Leave a comment